Attractions & Links

Sandwick Bay Guest House


Lews Castle


Lews Castle: This 19th-century castle is a must-visit attraction in Stornoway. It sits atop a hill and offers stunning views of the surrounding area. The castle is now a museum and hosts a range of exhibitions.


Stornoway Harbour


Stornoway Harbour: The harbour is a bustling hub of activity with fishing boats, ferries and pleasure boats coming and going. It is a great place to take a walk and enjoy the fresh sea air.


An Lanntair


An Lanntair: This is a cultural centre in Stornoway that hosts a range of events, including live music, theatre, cinema, and exhibitions.


The Lewis War Memorial


The Lewis War Memorial: Located in the centre of Stornoway, the war memorial is a poignant reminder of the island's sacrifices during the First and Second World Wars.


The Blackhouse Museum


The Blackhouse Museum: This museum provides a fascinating insight into the way of life in the Outer Hebrides in times gone by. It is housed in a traditional blackhouse, a type of house that was once common in the area.


The Callanish Stones


The Callanish Stones: This prehistoric site is located around 20 miles from Stornoway but is definitely worth a visit. The site features a complex of standing stones, believed to have been erected around 5000 years ago.


The Isle of Lewis Chessmen


The Isle of Lewis Chessmen: These 12th-century chess pieces were discovered in Lewis in the early 19th century and are now on display at the British Museum in London. However, replicas of the pieces can be seen at the Museum nan Eilean in Stornoway.


hope you find the following links useful...


Visit Scotland http://www.visitscotland.com
Official tourism authority for Scotland, information on accommodation, areas, activities, events and travel with special offers.
 
Visit Britain http://www.visitbritain.com
Visit Britain is the official Tourism Authority for Great Britain.
 
Historic Scotland http://www.historic-scotland.net
Days out that go down in history.
 
Scotttish Web http://www.scottishweb.net
A history, culture and travel site for the Highlands of Scotland.
 
Simply Scottish http://www.simplyscottish.com
Scottish features, resources, interviews, prizes and more- a comprehensive Scottish experience of Scotland's past, present and future.
 
Scot Find http://www.scotfind.com
Features travel, history, culture, genealogy.
 
Tartan Umbrella http://.www.tartan-umbrella.com
Scottish Internet Magazine
 
Scotland The Movie http://www.scotlandthemovie.com
Location guide to film and TV locations filmed in Scotland.
 
Stornoway Gazette  http://www.stornowaygazette.co.uk
Online news from the main Lewis weekly newspaper

Chambres D'Hote http://www.chambresdhotes.org
Search for B&B and holiday homes in France

The Bed & Breakfast Directory  http://www.bedandbreakfast-directory.co.uk
B&B guide for the UK

mygaelic.com http://www.mygaelic.com
The place to visit for everyone who wants to learn more about Gaelic - Gaelic language and culture, tourism, events relating to Gaelic and how and where they can engage with Scotland’s native tongue.

W.J.MacDonald Butchers  http://www.wjmacdonald.com
Local Stornoway butcher, suppliers of the original and best Stornoway Black Pudding


Book Online